top of page

'In everything give thanks'


When life is so good you can even eat cake.

There is much to be joyful about. There is hope in pain and there are always new days. The sun rises each morning and each God given day delivers us new opportunities, new challenges and new moments to be thankful.

Those years when I struggled with pain, depression and anxiety are years that I’m thankful I went through. I don’t think I was very thankful at the time. I was angry, frustrated, envious and hurt. I simply didn’t understand my situation or the lessons I would learn from it. I longed to be happy, I longed to be filled with hope.

When my husband and I talked about endometriosis he often gave me difficult words to hear at the time. He told me I had to start by choosing to be thankful for what I did have. I had food and clothing, shelter and an education. I had family and friends who loved and supported me. I lived a comfortable life in a peaceful country and I was blessed (I just didn’t know it). I wanted to be thankful. I wanted to wake up every day, see the world around me with the eyes that I was blessed with and praise God for his mercies. As with many things in life it was easier said than done.

I’ve since learned, through being still and observing, listening to others, my job, prayer and meditation on God’s Word that life is full of struggles. However, in spite of this there is still beauty. There are the simple things that we run past and sometimes sadly miss. There are sunrises and birds singing, hugs from loved ones and cups of coffee with friends. There are new born babies and nieces and nephews. Fresh flowers and long walks. There are quiet places to reflect and warm summer days to relax in. There are simply too many things to be thankful for.

I by no means have it all figured out. Like everyone I have days that are difficult, moments where I cry and feel overwhelmed. Rather than lasting for days and weeks on end these moments last for just that…moments. They are fewer and further between. They are anchored on each side by faith. They are acknowledged and walked through with strength and Gods presence, because I now know that they will not last forever.

God has blessed me so abundantly that sometimes I forget the pain of those years. I have a life that I never imagined was possible. I have a job that I absolutely love where I can bless others who are walking in far tougher shoes to wear. I have a husband who has not only shown me his true character as my rock but who continues to walk with me through every sunny day and raging storm. I have family and friends who love me and who I love in return. I have been blessed with nieces and nephews where the pain of infertility once placed envy and resentment. I have a beautiful peaceful home and animals that I call friends.

Enjoy the simple things. Be thankful for the small mercies in your life. Praise God through the storm and when He gently walks with you through the peaceful times. Seek counsel from those wiser than you. If you have too much to carry let someone carry part of it for you. Help others and be a blessing in someone else’s life. Pray. Read God’s Word. It gives life abundantly.

Endometriosis does not have the last say.

‘O give thanks unto the LORD; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.’ Psalm 136:1

God bless you and thank you for reading my post.

If you found this post encouraging or inspiring please check back regularly for new posts.

I write about life with endometriosis, faith, healthy and holistic living and staying hopeful.


SOPHIE'S
COOKING TIPS

#1 

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#2

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#3

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

bottom of page